I am not a terrorist-I am just on my way to Maine

1 Jul

Despite what a Walmart sales associate once concluded based on my purchase of a 100 ft tarp, two different sized shot gun shells, and my requesting amonia, I am not a terrorist. Having said that, do not wake me up to show me the George Washington bridge! I am from northern New Jersey not from the an Al-Qaidaesque military group  so why would I be interested in New York City landmarks? I am not! So, please do not wake me up at 5:30 a.m. to show me this?  If you were my father and woke me up to say, ” There’s the river kids,” and be talking about the Delaware I would be ok with that because I miss my Dad but I do not miss New York. I was working in New York and traveling by China Town bus everyday and taking the subway to the Upper West Side when I had a mental break down. I would like to give New York another try one day. Just not today.

Anyway, I was in that car today going over the GW Bridge because I was on my way to Maine, which is where I am now! I will be working here for the month of July so expect to see some pretty awesome pictures of moose, blueberries, and ferry boats!

To get you started here is the view from the house I am staying at:

I never hiked before in my life until I worked here two years ago. Before that experience I thought there was not a single wooded area in this country that I liked. If you ask me today I will still tell you I hate deciduous forests but I do like Maine at least where I am staying in Maine. It smells like cool crisp pine trees, there is really good lobster roll, even though I won’t be having any this year because I became a vegetarian in the beginning of February (after finding my cat Sergeant with a smashed in face and the vet telling me that someone must have deliberately hit him in the face with a blunt object to cause the damage he had 😦 ) There are also a lot of great local beers, local farming and really kind people here!

By the way it is 60 degrees here. Brrr! Philadelphia has been having more Florida-like weather lately and I was not prepared for this cool pine weather. I can’t tell you the importance of  the smell and feeling of a cold pine tree. I will try in the future though, after I spend a few more days with them.

“Shiver for me.”

Leave a Reply

