I got worms!

23 Jul

Hah! I think that is from Joe Dirt. I am back from Maine. I was hoping to be posting regularly while I was there and as you can see that didn’t work out very well. I am going to break my Maine happenings down into a few posts but for now I wanted to talk about something else.

I have ringworm. On my breast no less!  Ehh, gross. Right? Well, yes, that is gross but guess what I thought I had… Inflammatory Breast Cancer. I know you probably think I am jumping the gun but I am a bit of a paranoid person and even though I have just a red spot on my right breast as big as a quarter, I have had it for a month and at first thought it was just some dry skin. So, yesterday I get back from Maine and I decide I should have it looked at. Ok, so I have ringworm on my breast. That’s weird. I did use a public shower though and I try to never ever do that. Ringworm is not so bad though out of all of the things that I could contract, right?

So, what do you care about ringworm? You don’t. Well, you may but let’s talk about breast cancer instead.

Many people have never heard of Inflammatory Breast Cancer.  It is important to learn about this type of cancer if you don’t already know because it doesn’t have the same warning signs we are told to watch for. Most women are taught to do self breast exams and check for lumps. With inflammatory breast cancer there is no mass. Some symptoms could be redness, swelling, sensation of warmth and tenderness.

I am not in the medical field at all so I am not going to pretend that I can educate you properly on this but I urge you to look into it yourself if you don’t already know about it or ask your doctor.  It is a very aggressive form of cancer and is often mistaken for contact dermatitis. So, you could think you are having an allergic reaction to something here you may have breast cancer. I know it is not that simple, but I also know there are people who put there health and well being on the back burner and I urge you not to do that. I just thought I would put this out there since this is what was going through my head while I was trying to work and hike in Maine.

Yeah, ringworm is not so glamorous but at least I know I can treat it with some cream. I thought the redness, itching and aching was the beginning of IBC and now I know that it is not.

Ringworm

Source

Comparison of conditions

I hope this is not to graphic for all of you out there in reader land and I hope that bringing this up will help educate some people out there who have never heard of it.

Now that I have posted that I guess I will go to the pharmacy and pick up my cream.

Also, at some point I should talk about how I don’t want to get diabetes and what I should do about that 😦

7 Responses to “I got worms!”

  1. Jenna July 23, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    This post left me feeling a little more motivated to do some breast exams on myself. Inflammatory breast cancer looks awful! You’re right, ringworm is a much better option.

  2. Miss Alone July 23, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    That’s great that this post had that effect on you. We should remind all of the ladies in our lives about self breast exams and this other type of breast cancer! Let’s be proactive about our health!

    • QTBlonde007 October 10, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

      Miss Alone – would you happen to have a picture of what your ringworm looked like? I am in a very similar situation.. although I’m not sure if my red spot is ringworm, though. Cancer runs very badly in my family as we have a hereditary mutated cancer gene, so of course I have read about the IBC and am very worried. The spot is about the size of a quarter, but there is no itching, no lump, and it does not hurt at all. It’s just annoying visually I suppose. Ha. Thanks for your time!

      • Miss Alone October 11, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

        QTBlonde I haven’t been around much but I am going to write an update on my ringworm right now!

  3. jaydub26 July 23, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    I am one of the ladies on the IBC mailing list that you wrote to when you thought it was IBC. I didn’t reply but I’m glad you did this post on Inflammatory Breast Cancer – too many people think that breast cancer is just about lumps and mammograms – I know i was one of them when I was diagnosed with IBC at the age of 45. if people want more info they should check out these websites for basic mediccal information on Inflammatory Breast Cancer
    http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Sites-Types/IBC
    or
    http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/about-breast-cancer/inflammatory-breast-cancer.aspx
    You dont need to have a lump to have breast cancer
    Im so glad you haven’t got IBC but keep spreading the word because this type of Breast Cancer is more common in younger people

    • Miss Alone July 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Jaydub,
      Thank you for your comment. I haven’t emailed anyone about this. I just went straight to the doctor, which was just this morning.

      How are you doing now? How long ago were you diagnosed? If you would like to share your story we like to hear it but If not I appreciate your input and the links you have added.

      Cancer has touched many members of my family already and I worry about it all the time. I think is interesting because I don’t worry about dying. Just suffering. I hope you are not suffering.

      Thank you.

  4. jaydub26 July 23, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    oh – I thought you were the person that had emailed our IBC support network – with a very similar story – If people want to read my story they can pop over to
    http://getoutgertrude.wordpress.com/ where I tell my story.
    Long story short though. Two years ago this week my breast blew up during the course of one day to look like the picture you have posted above. In the morning it had looked normal although I had had an itch that wouldnt go away for two weeks prior that I had put down to washing powder residue in my bra. When diagnosed 4 August 2008 (after treatment with antibiotics for a week my GP decided to send me to a breast clinic even though he still thought it was an infection and so did I) it was all through my breast in little threads or sheets but nothing showed up on a mammogram other than my breast was denser and the skin layer itself was 4mm thick because it was in the dermal lymphatic vessels. It was also in the lymph nodes under my arm and above my colllar bone. 5 months chemo followed by 6 weeks radiation followed by complete mastectomy of IBC boob. No malignancy left so in remission – end of April 2009.
    1 year ago this week started to get sharp pains in my chest which was diagnosed October 2009 as recurrence /metastasis to internal mammary node behind my ribcage (these hadn’t been involved in initial diagnosis) chemo again from December 2009 to April 2010 (thankfully didn’t lose my hair again this time) in Remission again May 2010

Leave a Reply

